Important Information Regarding DUI Laws Following an Arrest
Everyone knows a DUI arrest can lead to serious legal issues, but it’s difficult to keep track of the details. If you are convicted of DUI in Pennsylvania, you face:
- A criminal record and $300 in fines for a first offense
- $300 to $2,500 in fines, a 12-month driver’s license suspension and five days to six months in jail for a second offense
- $500 to $5,000 in fines, a 12-month driver’s license suspension and 10 days to two years in jail for a third offense
With these serious penalties, it makes sense to seek out effective legal help following DUI charges. I am attorney W. Wayne Punshon and I can provide the help you need.
I offer an almost unique level of experience in Pennsylvania regarding DUI charges. I have two decades of experience as a prosecutor and one decade of experience as a criminal defense lawyer. Also, I have personally handled over 10,000 DUI cases. I know how to pursue your best option in any scenario and at each step in the legal process. I can weigh the facts against prosecutors’ tactics while asking key questions, such as:
- Did police violate your rights?
- Did police have probable cause to pull you over?
- Were field sobriety and blood alcohol tests conducted properly?
- How was physical evidence handled after the arrest? Can its whereabouts be documented at each point?
Prosecutor and police tactics and the harshness of a DUI itself can conspire to convince you that you have no chance and that a conviction is assured. Do not lose hope. I have succeeded in having charges dismissed or reduced in thousands of instances. To arrange for a free consultation to discuss your DUI charges, contact my firm online or by calling 610-565-8412.